Guest Author Cynthia MacGregor

Hi and welcome to my blog, Cynthia MacGregor. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

Q: What genre do you write and what publisher(s)?

 

I write in a variety of genres, but mostly nonfiction. I do have four romance novels with BookStrand, and three novels (mainstream, not romance) with the Living & Learning imprint of Secret Cravings Publishing, but mostly I write nonfiction. I have 54 conventionally published (that is, paper, print, physical books, whatever you wanna call ’em) books to my credit and my over-50-and-still-counting ebooks include releases from Uncial Press, SynergEbooks, and the above-mentioned BookStrand and Living & Learning, as well as forthcoming books with XOXO Publishing, which used to publish only erotic romances but is now beginning to accept for publication nonfiction, juveniles, and other genres as well. Then there was the publisher who accepted a boatload of my books and, after publishing some, went out of business. But let’s not talk about them. It’s still depressing. 😦

 

Q: So tell us a little about your latest or upcoming book(s). What inspired it?

 

Honestly, I have so many upcoming books, I don’t know which to talk about. Most of my books, though, being nonfiction, are inspired by real-life situations that I realize cry out for a book to address them. Some have already been covered by some other author’s book; some haven’t. But even when another book exists on the topic, if I think I have new info, or a new approach, or a different voice to offer, I take it on.

 

Q: Who are some of your favorite characters from your books? The hardest to write? The easiest?

 

Well, when you say “characters,” you are talking about fiction. I guess I like all my fiction heroines. I wouldn’t write about them if I didn’t like them. I don’t know who is hardest to write. Maybe the antagonists? Paul in Home Again, Home Again was a bit problematic because it was a challenge to write about him in such a way that he was not the ideal husband and yet still loved by Brenna even after he left her and started living with another woman. But under the challenging circumstances that he and Brenna faced, which drove them apart, he might be forgiven for his “transgressions.” I guess the female protagonists are the easiest for me to write. Brenna of Home Again, Home Again, who is facing the kidnapping of her son and then a mountain of problems when he is finally returned but will not accept her as his mother. Marie of What Child Is This?, who wants only to have a normal pregnancy and be left alone by all those people who believe she is carrying The Second Coming. Julia, of Finding Zoe, who discovers her mother’s Huge Secret but almost doesn’t discover her son’s secret in time to save him from an awful fate.

 

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them/she/it/he back to the drawing board?

 

That really isn’t an issue with me. There are days when I am just too whupped or too busy to write, but I can’t say the muse has ever deserted me.

Q: Is there a genre you haven’t tried yet but plan to in the future?

 

There are many genres I haven’t tried yet, and God only knows what I will try in the future. I welcome challenges, and a genre I haven’t tried yet is definitely a challenge. Right now I am plotting an erotic romance—a genre I haven’t tried yet, as my four romances were not erotic—because one of my publishers put out a call to its authors for erotic romances. But currently I am ghostwriting a nonfiction book for a client and editing a novel for another client, and I feel I need to finish both these assignments before I start writing an erotic romance on spec.

 

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

You know, I don’t have a bucket list. I want to see more of my books published. I want to write more books. I currently produce and host three TV shows, and I want to do more with that. I want to try new things—nothing specific at this time that I can point to, just a desire to experience new challenges and try new things. But I have no bucket list, no desire to travel to distant places or any of that stuff such as appears on many people’s bucket list. Guess it’s ’cause I’m so happy with my life as it is.

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

I think storyline.

Q: If you were a comic book character, who would you be and what super powers would you have?

 

The comic strips I most enjoy and, in a sense, relate to are For Better or for Worse and The Pajama Diaries, and neither of those heroines has super powers. But Jill Kaplan in The Pajama Diaries works at home—as I have for most of my adult life—and tries to raise her kids while working—as I did when my daughter (now grown and with kids of her own) was growing up. (My book Life Behind the Office, accepted by XOXO Publishing, though as of this time I do not have a release date, details the humorous aspect of that.)

 

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

 

More books than I can count. As I write this, XOXO Publishing is sending me acceptances in batches, Secret Cravings Publishing still has six books or so forthcoming, SynergEbooks has five books of mine forthcoming, and I am planning a book for Uncial that may or may not be accepted.

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

 

An easy question! Go to www.cynthiamacgregor.com. You can also read me in a lot of other places, notably www.TheSoloParent.com (helpful info for solo parents, whether divorced, widowed, or never married) and other websites that carry my articles. You can also input CynthiaMacGregor in Google and turn up some stuff, including puns through PUNY (Punsters United Nearly Yearly) and more stuff. Whew! I’m tired now…and dinner, cooking as I write this (and some of my cookbooks are among XOXO’s acceptances), is almost ready.

 

Thanks for the chance to “expose myself” on the web. I’d say, “Pardon me if my slip is showing,” but since I live in South Florida, where almost no one wears a slip, that hardly seems appropriate. Gonna go check the oven and see how dinner is coming. See y’all around.

2 thoughts on “Guest Author Cynthia MacGregor

  1. Cyn,
    I have to say it has been a pleasure working with you!! With your wide variety of topics there is something out there of yours for everyone 🙂

  2. If you are adopted, or have adopted or even wonder sometimes what all the fuss is about, this book gives you a glimpse into the journey that one goes through be it parent or child. Thank you for a great book Cynthia!

Leave a Reply

