Welcome Kiki Howell

Hi and welcome to my blog, Kiki. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

A: I mainly write paranormal, erotic romances for Excessica Publishing, Knight Romance Publishing, and Whiskey Creek Press Torrid. I also have short stories in anthologies published with Pill Hill Press, Hedge Witchery Books and Mojocastle Press.

 

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

A: A Strange Freedom: Blood & Fireworks is a patriotic paranormal about a witch and a vampire which begins on Memorial Day and ends on the Fourth of July. I touches upon the idea of sacrifices made for freedoms. I got the idea for the story though reading about the 10 year struggle to get the Wiccan symbol of the pentagram as an accepted religious symbol on veterans headstones. Hence, the Memorial Day, Ritual of Remembrance start to the book.

 

Q: Who are some of your favorite characters from your books? The hardest to write? The easiest?

A: I have a thing about witches, so I guess they would be the easiest to write since they show up in the majority of my stories. The hardest I have ever written though, I would say were my angels and demons. In my story, A Questionable Hero, I endured quite a struggle to get a demon into Heaven! LOL

 

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them/she/it/he back to the drawing board?

A: I read or watch movies to remind myself what I love about it, being taken on a fictional journey, an escape from real life. Sometimes though, I try a different muse. I engage a different form of creativity in hopes that my writing muse will come around. I love to draw and knit and bake and even dance.

 

Q: Is there a genre you haven’t tried yet but plan to in the future?

A: I have yet to try my hand at Steampunk. It took me a long time to write my historicals, so in time I will get up the nerve to try Steampunk too. Also, I would like to write a feel-good, inspirational contemporary, like the ones my mom gives me to read sometimes.

 

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

A: Eeck, no idea. I have long term goals, big dream vacations, but the world ending tomorrow, well there just wouldn’t be time. So, I wouldn’t try to do anything new. I would want to settle in with my family, order in a favorite meal (although I am thinking everyone will have quit their jobs and I will get stuck cooking), and just enjoy our final time we have together.

 

Q: You’re on a remote island with a handsome man, a computer, and a “mysterious” source of electricity to power your computer. What do you do?

A: *blushes* Inspire a hot story and then write it! LOL

 

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

A: Sometime storyline, as I come up with a scenario I would like to see what people or supernaturals would do in. Other times, I come up with a character, and try to figure out the best situation to have them evolve in.

 

Q: If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity would you like to star as your main characters?

A: I am a big Ian Somerhalder fan, from LOST to the Vampire Diaries.

 

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

A: I have a novella coming out in September, called The Sum of All, a paranormal erotic romance story I wrote with the wonderful Emma Hillman!

 

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?

A: Overly emotional. Watch for extreme explosions in the form of a wild imagination and steamy stories.

 

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

A: Born the daughter of a Vietnam Veteran, I am in awe of the sacrifices that our military make for our country. I would like to express my thanks to each of them and their families.

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

A: Author Website – http://www.kikihowell.com

Blog – http://authorsbyauthors.blogspot.com

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/kikihowell

Twitter – http://twitter.com/#!/KikiHowell

A Strange Freedom: Blood & Fireworks

 

Blurb: Can a witch gain her freedom to live as she chooses between Memorial Day and the Fourth of July?  

 

A man was not exactly what Meranda was looking for when she went to her grandfather’s grave for a ritual of remembrance on Memorial Day.  However, what she thinks is a ghost in the heavy shadows of the night ends up a vampire. 

 

When Meranda’s grandfather lay dying on a bloody battlefield in WWII, Alexander promised the man he would take care of his family if he got out of the war alive.  Even though he returned to the states a night walker, he has done his best to honor that promise from a distance. 

 

When Meranda is hurt due to his negligence, Alexander valiantly fights his own desires for her blood to save her.  Only, once she is better, their lives clash.  But, using a little magic, she plans to win their war by the time the fireworks light up the sky on Independence Day.

 

AVAILABLE NOW from Excessica Publishing, Barnes & Noble, and All Romance eBooks, etc. 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Welcome Kiki Howell

  1. I love, love, loved the interview. I always love learning new things about Kiki. I feel she is such a phenomenal writer that I could learn a lot from her. A Strange Freedom: Blood & Fireworks sounds like an incredible story. I LOVE Vampires and have always been fascinated with witches so I am tickled pink to hear Kiki has combined the two. Color me all shades of excited….^_^.

  2. I love, love, loved the interview. I always love learning new things about Kiki. I feel she is such a phenomenal writer that I could learn a lot from her. A Strange Freedom: Blood & Fireworks sounds like an incredible story. I LOVE Vampires and have always been fascinated with witches so I am tickled pink to hear Kiki has combined the two. Color me all shades of excited….^_^.

Leave a Reply

