Angela Claire Blog Tour Stop

Hi and welcome to my blog, Angela Claire. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

Hi Raine.  Thanks for having me.  I write erotic romance for Siren Bookstrand.  Within erotic romance, though, I have tried quite a few genres.  My first, Saving McCade, was a contemporary mystery/suspense.  I followed that up with a historical western, Heart of Stone, and then a pirate adventure, To Catch a Pirate.  So I guess you could say I’m feeling my way around!

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

My latest is To Catch a Pirate.  As suggested by the title (it’s so hard to come up with one of those!), this is about a pirate in the 1800s and the enterprising female businesswoman who sets out to catch him in the hopes of getting him to ‘stop interfering with her voyages’.  I guess all those swashbuckler pirate movies inspired this novel.  The idea of cozying up to a handsome pirate on a seafaring vessel just really gets me.

Q: Who are some of your favorite characters from your books? The hardest to write? The easiest?

I have to say I really love Jesse Whelan, who is a lady’s man cowboy from Heart of Stone. He will be the main character in the sequel, Jesse’s Girl, which is coming out from Siren in June.  Jesse is just so charming and there are all these passing references to how women are always just falling all over him.  I have a young Brad Pitt or Don Johnson in mind for Jesse.

I find the heroes the easiest to write and the heroines the hardest.  I have to guard against my heroines getting all wimpy in love, which I hate.  So I tend to make them pretty independent-minded and feisty.

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them/she/it/he back to the drawing board?

Mmmm…that’s a tough one.  I’m not sure I’ve conquered that yet.  When Siren accepted my first novel, I was filled with such an incredible creative surge that I felt like I could not get the stories out fast enough.  But now I’m done with the fifthnovel, which should be out later this summer, I find myself a little tapped out.  I am not sure where I should go from here.  I took some time out to read a biography of Cleopatra and that was fun.  But I’m still waiting for my muse to come back!

Q: Is there a genre you haven’t tried yet but plan to in the future?

I haven’t tried Science fiction and would love to.

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

(1)   Spending the remaining time with my husband and kids.

(2)Eating anything I want to eat, no matter how fattening.

(3)Stopping to smell the roses.

Q: You’re on a remote island with a handsome man, a computer, and a “mysterious” source of electricity to power your computer. What do you do?

Is this a trick question?  My husband may be reading this.  I’d write, honey, definitely…

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

Characters always come first.  I fit them into a story line later.  For instance, I had this idea of a man wrongly imprisoned for murdering his wife.  He was a former tech billionaire and now he is in prison and this woman comes to offer him a deal to get him out.  This turned out to be Steve and Meredith from Saving McCade.  I had them firmly in mind before I worked out all the details of the story.

Q: If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity would you like to star as your main characters?

Well, I had one of my reviewers say Saving McCade would be a good movie.  She suggested Steve McQueen and Stephanie Powers, but I think that moment has passed.

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?
After Jesse’s Girl will be The Outlaw takes a Madam.  That story also takes place in the Colorado town where Jesse’s Girl and Heart of Stone do, but the story involves the town doctor and his twin brother, a gunslinger.  The gunslinger is hiding out in his brother’s house and comes across the town madam, who herself is masquerading as a respectable spinster.

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?

Me personally…?  Emotional, I guess I’d say.  My writing?  Hot.

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

I try to insert a lot of humor into my writing.  I think sometimes romance doesn’t have enough of that.

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

My website is www.angelaclaireromance.com and you can also find my books on the Siren Bookstrand website as well as amazon.com etc.

Thanks for having me!

To Catch a Pirate

Jamie Banion, captain of The Ocean Jewel, comes by his piracy honestly. He was born into it, son of the legendary Bloody Mary. In deference to his mother, he’s respectful of his female captives.

Evelyn Paxton is tired of the pirate who has been interrupting the voyages of her shipping company. So she poses as the daughter of an earl to lure him into taking her for ransom so she can lead him into a trap for the British navy.

Jamie doesn’t trust himself to keep his usual respectful distance from the sexy-as-hell blonde, especially when Evelyn adds another facet to her cover, that of the seductress. But by convincing Jamie she is no innocent miss, she overcomes his gentlemanly inclinations and gets on board The Ocean Jewel.

Add a storm, a secret island and a shocking revelation of pirates past, and Evelyn and Jamie find themselves sailing through adventure to true love.

Buy at http://www.bookstrand.com/to-catch-a-pirate

Saving McCade

 

What more could an innocent man behind bars want but a conjugal visit from a sexy stranger? A get out of jail free card, maybe?

Undercover agent Meredith DeView is offering Steve McCade a deal: work with her in a secluded safe house to crack the smuggling ring at his old tech company, and the FBI will guarantee he never has to return to prison.

Sounds good…if he can only keep his hands off the hot agent who’s rescued him.

Meredith is sex and salvation all wrapped up in one for McCade, but there’s a dark truth that’s driven her to seek him out. By getting him to the safe house, Meredith ensures that McCade goes free, even if she never comes clean.

When McCade finally learns the truth, will he hate Meredith, or will the truth set them both free?

Buy at   http://www.bookstrand.com/saving-mccade

Heart of Stone

Widowed Colorado cowboy Jake Stone has a baby to take care of. But when he asks his aunt to come west to help, she sends Melinda O’Chauncey instead…a walking, talking inspiration for sex if Jake ever saw one. But Jake has no intention of ever marrying again, so he vows to keep his hands off the sexy new nursemaid. Easier said than done!

As skittish as Jake is about matrimony, Melinda couldn’t marry the handsome cowboy, even if he got down on his knees and begged her. She has secrets of her own that she hopes are far, far behind in Boston.

Add to that a rash of mysterious happenings on the ranch that make Jake’s wife’s death a question mark, and a wedding may turn out to be the least of Melinda and Jake’s problems. In fact, it looks like a funeral might be in store for them instead.

Buy at http://www.bookstrand.com/heart-of-stone

My website is:   http://www.angelaclaireromance.com/

2 thoughts on “Angela Claire Blog Tour Stop

  1. Hi Raine,
    Thanks for having me here today. I really like the idea of cabana boys. Cool! I’d like to borrow them some day for my pool at home!
    Angela Claire

Leave a Reply

