Talking with Karenna Colcroft

Hi and welcome to my blog, Karenna Colcroft. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

I write primarily contemporary het romance. I’m published with Pink Petal Books, Ellora’s Cave, Noble Romance, and Siren, and I have an MFM novel coming toward the end of summer from Passion in Print Press. I also have an M/M paranormal novel, Salad on the Side, which will be out soon from MLR Press. A vegan werewolf and a slightly submissive Alpha.

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

Salad on the Side is one of those books that kind of grew itself. An author friend of mine mentioned hearing about a book about a vegan werewolf. (When I checked out that book, the character is described as “reformed vegan”; I wanted to make sure I wouldn’t be copying anyone!) My friend and some other authors who were part of the conversation wondered how a werewolf could be vegan, so I wrote a short scene in which a vegan had just been changed into a werewolf by an attack, but still refused to eat meat even in wolf form. That character, Kyle Slidell, took over from there, and before I knew it I had an entire novel.

Q: Who are some of your favorite characters from your books? The hardest to write? The easiest?

Hands down, Kyle is my favorite. He’s such a wiseass, and was so much fun to write! I think he was also the easiest to write. From my other books, I love Gwen Davies in my novel Eternal Love, because she overcomes a lot, and I have a soft spot for Micah Ward in my novel Their Home Port because he’s based on my husband. The hardest characters have been in some of my contemporary novellas, because sometimes when I’m doing the first drafts I don’t feel like I’ve gotten deeply enough into the characters’ heads.

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them/she/it/he back to the drawing board?

My muse doesn’t take holidays, and he doesn’t let me either!

Q: Is there a genre you haven’t tried yet but plan to in the future?

There aren’t any that I’d want to try that I haven’t already. I would like to do more paranormal romance, though; maybe some urban fantasy. I haven’t done much of that, which is odd because in my YA author life, urban fantasy is almost all I write.

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

I’d love to go to Great Britain and Northern Ireland; I’d like to see a movie or TV series made out of my YA novels; and I want to go on a no-holds-barred, no financial limit shopping spree. (Though I guess shopping wouldn’t be much use, because I wouldn’t have time to use all the things I’d bought…)

Q: You’re on a remote island with a handsome man, a computer, and a “mysterious” source of electricity to power your computer. What do you do?

As long as the handsome man is my husband, I get him to help me “research” for some romance stories, then sit down to write them. If the handsome man isn’t my husband, he can fan me and bring me cool drinks while I write.

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

It depends. I think my strongest books are the ones where the characters came first, because the characters start speaking to me and the books kind of write themselves from there. But not all of my books start that way. Sometimes I have the plot first. I don’t usually have the setting first; sometimes I get to the end of the first draft and still don’t know where the story takes place.

Q: If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity would you like to star as your main characters?

I’ve been asked this before, and I never have an answer… I don’t watch a lot of TV or movies, so I can never really think of a celebrity who would fit my characters!

I do have one answer this time, though… I think Darren Criss from Glee would be a perfect Tobias (Kyle’s lover) if a movie were ever made out of Salad on the Side. He would just have to grow his hair longer.

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

I have a fantasy novella titled The Mirror of the Soul coming out June 3 from Pink Petal Books. It’s part of their shared-world project called Spellbound Treasure, and is about a human woman and a Fae man who somehow both buy the same mirror, which brings them together across dimensions. In August, my MFM novel Shiny Objects will be out from Passion in Print Press. And I’m currently working on a few things, but I don’t want to say much about them because I don’t want to jinx them.

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?

“Warning: Mild equals wild.”

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

I’ve only been writing erotic romance since 2006, and my first e-book was published in 2009. So it hasn’t been that long, but I’ve learned a lot and have met some wonderful authors, editors, and readers along the way. Hopefully the ones I’d most like to thank know who they are!

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

My website is http://karennacolcroft.com, and my blog is part of that site. My books are available on Amazon, AllRomanceebooks, and of course the publishers’ sites. I’m on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/karenna.colcroft, and on Twitter I’m @KarennaColcroft.

Salad on the Side will be available from MLR Press: http://www.mlrbooks.com/books.php.

Blurb:

Since moving to Boston, Kyle Slidell has met only a few of his neighbors, including Tobias Rogan. Kyle is very interested in Tobias, and is ecstatic to learn that Tobias wants him too. But his neighbors have a secret: They’re werewolves, and Tobias is the pack Alpha. When one of the wolves attacks Kyle in the neighborhood garden one night, Kyle learns the truth in a hurry. Now he’s a werewolf too—and since he’s vegan, he refuses to eat meat. With Tobias’s help and love, Kyle must adjust to his new life and protect himself and his friends from a neighboring pack.

6 thoughts on “Talking with Karenna Colcroft

  1. Nice interview, Karenna. I’m like you. My strongest stories are the ones where the characters won’t shut the heck up 🙂 I can’t wait for Salad on the Side. I have to get this one.

Leave a Reply

