Talking with Guest Author Xavier Axelson

Hi and welcome to my blog, Xavier Axelson. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

I write Gay Erotica for Seventh Window Publications and Silver Publishers

Q: So tell us a little about Dutch’s boy. What inspired it?

Oh Dutch’s Boy…Where do I begin…First off I started writing this right when Blake Edwards died so I decided to name one of the characters in whatever I was going to write Blake and then I realized Blake Edwards was good friends with Henry Mancini so I decided to name my main character Henry…but got confused and called him Harry…Lol.  The plot came from a recent news story about Amtrak now allowing people to get on trains with guns.  Most of what I write is inspired by true events.

Q: Who are some of your favorite characters from your books? The hardest to write? The easiest?

I have a soft spot for Evrain from “A Valentine for Evrain,” he’s cocky, vain and not always likeable but his voice was strong and I couldn’t not write him.  I think the Valentine story was the hardest but I also think it is my strongest so far.  The edit was tough but the result is tight and hot and I am incredibly proud of it.  Oddly, Evrain was also the easiest; it came forth so fast that I think I wrote it in one night.

Q: You have been working in the adult industry for over fifteen years. What got you interested in this field?

I am fascinated by sex and am an incredibly sexual person so I guess two and two just made 4.  My first job was as a “female” phone sex operator and while I was doing that, I trained as a dungeon master and was the resident dungeon master for a fetish boutique back east.

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them/she/it/he back to the drawing board?

My muse is never on holiday…but I often am…she is the one who has to drag my wandering butt back to the computer.  I’m dreamy and could spend the day staring at the hollyhocks growing outside my window if I’m not careful.  My muse has her hands full.

Q: Is there a genre you haven’t tried yet but plan to in the future?

I actually have a ton of ideas for Kid’s Books…I am a huge fan of Children’s Literature and actually that was where my passion for writing started.  I also write horror…and there may be a cookbook somewhere deep inside me…

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

I want to go to Sweden and lay by a lake and drink vodka

Write the next great American novel

Win a Pulitzer …Easy peasy!

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

Characters…definitely…they come to me like they’ve been waiting for me to show up to the party…when the names just flow I know I’m on the write path.  Then comes the setting and the storyline is last…it’s kind of like writing a choose your own adventure, I never know where I’m going to end up.

Q: If you were a comic book character, who would you be and what super powers would you have?

I’m torn between Poison Ivy and Venom…Definitely someone who was dangerous, sexy and poisonous…oh and I’d definitely be a villain.

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

Oh boy, I’m so crazed with projects!  I have two new novella’s coming out:  Lily (a paranormal erotic Father’s Day horror story) with Silver Publishing and The Good Cop (an erotic and surprisingly heartfelt M/M cop romance with Seventh Window Publications and I am in the middle of having a three book M/M horror epic Beta Read.  My column over at examiner.com is jumping; I’ve got some incredible interviews coming out in the next two months;  Look for Buck Angel, Cazwell, Pandora Boxx, and a few other surprises…

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

http://xavieraxelson.com/

http://www.examiner.com/la-in-los-angeles/francis-xavier

http://www.facebook.com/xaviersaxel

http://twitter.com/XaviersAxel

**~~**

Dutch’s Boy by Xavier Axelson- Harry Reynolds wants to ride broncos in the rodeo but his father, the well-known rodeo rider, Dutch, has made his son work the family ranch instead.  With only a dream and some pocket money, Harry leaves the ranch to pursue his ambitions.  Chance encounters, sex, and love soon teach the young cowboy life lessons that he will not forget.

Publisher: Seventh Window Publications

BUY:

http://www.seventhwindow.com/index.php?main_page=product_music_info&cPath&products_id=35

One thought on “Talking with Guest Author Xavier Axelson

  1. Dear XA didn’t I tell you that two and two equal 69?? LOL I loved the interview and I would loved to read horror books by you.

    By the way your muse still has not visited me yet. I think you are both on vacation. Perhaps a spanking is in order?

Leave a Reply

