Getting to know Destiny Booze

Hi and welcome to my blog, Destiny Booze. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Hello! Thank you so much for having me. I think I’ll have a glass of sweet tea, please, while I stare at those cabana boys and try not to drool. Hey, it never hurts just to look, right? lol

So, a little about me, I’m a multi-published romantic suspense author, and oh boy, do I love saying that!

My younger brother calls me Chuckles. My life is simple, some would even say boring. I work hard, dream big and play often. I live in Botetourt County, Virginia with my husband and son. I strive daily to be the best wife, mother and writer that I can be.
Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

I write romantic suspense and thrillers with Whimsical Publications.

Q: So tell us a little about your recent release, The Curse of a Mind. What inspired it?

I wanted to write something different, something so out of the box that it couldn’t possibly go unnoticed in the publishing industry. I started with a tough, hardcore female lead and a surprising plot. I added in some eerie scenes from the killer’s point-of-view. I also used the unique voice of the lead character’s autistic brother. I do believe I came up with something pretty noteworthy, if I do say so myself.

Here’s a blurb:

They can’t win. The perpetrator is using a marvel in the medical field known as techlepathy, a combination of technology and telepathy to produce a telepathic result. He’s reading their minds. How can they possibly get away when he knows their every move?

Chris Chambers is a private investigator with great instincts and a shady past. She works with a skilled team on cases that most P.I.’s won’t touch. She’s hardened to life, hardened to people and as tough as the military trained her to be.

Her team’s newest case is a construction worker by the name of Aidan Wolfe. Aidan is hardheaded and successful, a man with no friends and a long list of enemies. Someone is trying to kill him, someone with extraordinary gifts.

The investigative team and Aidan will be confronted with their worst enemies—themselves. They are cursed to face their own thoughts, inner fears, prejudices, and every private feeling or emotion they have as this man toys with their minds and hearts.

Can they survive? By the end, will they want to?

Q: Who are some of your favorite characters from your books? The hardest to write? The easiest?

In The Curse of a Mind, there is an autistic man that will probably forever be one of my favorite characters. His name is Garrett. He’s the heroine’s brother. His point-of-view was such a challenge to write from, but I fell so in love with him while writing the story! He’s my favorite and the hardest to write.

The easiest character? Angelica Chappell from Predetermined Endings. The reason is because she is so likeable. I didn’t have to find ways to make the reader connect with her. She’s just naturally the kind of person people will love right away, in my opinion.

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them/she/it/he back to the drawing board?

I take a breather, work on something else for a little while. Then, I come back and reread everything I’ve written. More often than not, if I’m having problems getting the story right, it’s missing something. Maybe it needs a twist in the plot. Maybe it needs another character in the mix. I should be energized and excited to write. If I’m not, I need to figure out why.

Q: Is there a genre you haven’t tried yet but plan to in the future?

Just between you, me, Zeke, and Jake, I’ve been toying with a fantasy type plot for a little while. It could lead somewhere…lol.

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

1.Take my family scuba diving….with some sharks. Then, back down…with some even bigger sharks…and a cage. Nothing like a little danger to get your mind off the end of the world.

2. Take my family parachuting. Jumping out of a plane is something I’ve never tried. It sure would be a rush!

3. Have my whole family baptized again with lots of prayers to make sure we are all set for the far beyond. 🙂

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

Usually characters. Once I know who I want to work with, it’s easy for me to decide what’s going to happen to them and in what setting.

 Q: If you were a comic book character, who would you be and what super powers would you have?

Superwoman. She kicks butt and she looks good doing it. You can’t get any cooler than that.

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

My next release, Accelerating Circumstances, will be coming soon in 2011. Want a blurb?

Jenny is different. She can read people’s minds.

At age seventeen, Jenny Reid was arrested for killing her own mother. There was no evidence that an intruder entered the house. No one believed her as a teenager when she tried to tell them how she felt the killer’s rage saturated within the walls, that she knew the presence of evil had been there. The police thought she was crazy, not psychic.

A conviction was never made in the case due to lack of evidence. Jenny is still the sole suspect, but now, she is doing something about it. She’s on the right side of the law, an FBI agent determined to finally find justice for her mom.

Two men stay by her side—William, her partner, a darkly intense agent with a scary past and Nate, a bad boy with too much charisma to be a good thing. But, no man will keep her from finding out the truth about her mom. The time has come to set things right.

Nothing will stand in her way. She’ll come up close with evil again and face the ultimate choice—kill or be killed in these ACCELERATING CIRCUMSTANCES.

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

http://www.destinybooze.com

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Destiny-Booze/152893818389

https://twitter.com/destinybooze

Thanks again for having me! The tea was great, so were the cabana boys!

Where to buy my books:

Where to Buy in Print: My books are available to order at the following bookstores.

Barnes&Noble

www.bn.com

Books-A-Million

www.booksamillion.com

Amazon.com

www.amazon.com

Whimsical Publications

www.whimsicalpublications.com

Where to Buy in Electronic Format (E-book):

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=destiny+booze&x=0&y=0

Barnes and Noble

http://productsearch.barnesandnoble.com/search/results.aspx?WRD=destiny+booze

Smashwords

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/DestinyBoozeWP

Omnilit

http://www.omnilit.com/storeSearch.html

6 thoughts on “Getting to know Destiny Booze

  1. Hi Destiny, great interview. I must read your books as I’m totally addicted to romantic suspense, probably why I write in that genre too. LOL Fabulous blurbs and I love your bucket responses, too cool.

  2. Be sure to get your family baptized before you go scuba diving with the sharks. LOL Wow – I don’t think I could handle the parachuting (hate heights) or being in the water with sharks. But yeah, getting baptized again is good to cover all bases.

    The telepathy in your story line reminds me of my older brother and sister teasing me when I was little and pretending to know everything by using telepathy between them. What can I say – I was a gullible kid and believed everything.

    Your books sound wonderful and exciting. I hope you sell lots of books, especially since we share the same publisher. 🙂

Leave a Reply

