Welcome Sarah Makela Today

Apologies to Sarah as this was caught in my draft folder instead of being in the scheduled one.

Hi and welcome to my blog, Sarah Mäkelä. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Thanks for having me here, Raine! Yum, tasty strawberry margarita!

I write hot paranormal and sci-fi romance for Changeling Press. I also love writing urban fantasies. Although none of those are published yet. Some of my passions are traveling and playing video games and, of course, reading. That goes without saying, doesn’t it? I’m also a definite cat lover.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

I’d say enough to make the story interesting. I’m pretty sure my muse/subconscious uses some, but I guess it really depends on the story. When I first started writing, I think I used a little more from life experiences, but these days I don’t as much. I love playing with my imagination and make believe. :-)

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book?

With novellas, it tends to take a little over half a month to one month to write and revise the story. With novels, I can finish one in two months. That’s not counting revision, which would probably take on another month or so. After that, I’d send it off to my editor.

What is your writing routine once you start a book?

I don’t quite have a set writing routine, aside from needing to meet my daily word count. Typically, I try to get my writing done during the early evening around dinnertime.

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it?

CAPTIVE MOONLIGHT is set in the Wild West, and it’s about a woman whose betrothed is taken captive by a group of men looking for werewolf laborers since he’s a werewolf. It’s up to the heroine to track him down and win him back — even if that means putting her own life in danger.

This story was inspired by two songs actually. The one that set the tone for it was The Longest Road by Morgan Page (ft. Lissie), and the one that inspired it more lyric-wise was Fight for You by Morgan Page (ft. Lissie).

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write?

I seriously enjoy love scenes when there’s truly something special between the hero and heroine, and I also think they should mean something in terms of plot and not just for adding in another sex scene. I’ve read books where the author seemed to decide she wanted to write yet another sex scene, and it made the story boring.

In terms of writing love scenes, I think some are easier than others. I had a story I wrapped up recently where I loved the intimacy between the characters. It was fun and beautiful to write. I think having love scenes in books is great. Sex is important in real life relationships, so our characters should be able to express that part of relationships too.

What kind of research do you do for your books?

All kinds of research. I figure out some of what I need before getting started with writing, and I’ll search the internet. If I can’t find what I need, I’ll go to the library. Once I get started writing, I’ll try to keep going and mark where I need to do more research, which pretty much spans a wide range of topics. I’ve looked up period clothing, period weaponry, modern weaponry, even betrothal.
What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do?

I love playing computer games and video games. I really enjoy traveling.Readingis also another favorite as well as listening to music. I also love spending time with my family and cats.
Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read?

My favorite authors are Ilona Andrews, Karen Chance, and Laurell K. Hamilton. I also really enjoy Kelley Armstrong, Jim Butcher, and Patricia Briggs. I read almost all genres, but my favorite by far is urban fantasy and then paranormal romance.

Among your own books, have you a favorite?  A favorite hero or heroine?

I enjoy all of my books. It’d be pretty boring to put in the effort on one that I didn’t. Out of the books I’ve had published so far, I’d say that JUNGLE FIRE and CAPTIVE MOONLIGHT are ones I’m especially proud of. I love Kyle and Rubia who are the hero and heroine of JUNGLE FIRE. But I think pretty much the story I’m currently working at the time tends to be my favorite.

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting?

It really depends on the story. Some books come to me in certain ways, and others appear to me in other ways. What happens most often is an idea forms first, and then I figure out the characters. I have to have both of those before the plot because the characters are crucial to building a plot since, like in real life, different people want different things.

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

The elements of a great romance… When I know beyond a shadow of a doubt the hero and heroine were made for one another. They share deep, sensual emotions for each other, and there’s a ton of chemistry. I love it when I have to read more because I need to know what’s going to happen next.

What is the hardest part of writing/the easiest for you?

I don’t really think there’s an easiest part, more like a part I’m most comfortable with. The whole process of going from idea to having your book for sale is hard work. What I really enjoy is coming up with new stories and ideas for characters. It’s when there’s that newness and my enthusiasm is at a high. The hardest part would be sitting down day after day after the newness has worn off from the book and finishing the project.

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you?

I’d say we have a good give-and-take relationship. I tend to have an idea of where the story is going to go and what the characters are like, but there are usually some major surprises and the characters let their opinions be known.

What are some of your current projects?

I’m currently wrapping up the third book in my cyberpunk romance series, Hacked Investigations called BLACKLIST ROGUE. I also have a paranormal romance novella that is looking for a home, and I’m editing a post-apocalyptic paranormal romance novel. Enough to keep me busy, for sure!

Boxers, briefs, boxerbriefs…. Or commando on a man? Why?

Hmm… I have to say boxerbriefs. I love the way they fit nice and snug.

What is your strangest habit?

I don’t like being the passenger in a car. I get freaked out if I’m not the one driving.

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

I didn’t really pay attention to the mirror this morning. haha

What is your favorite pizza?

Thin crust pizza with chicken and pineapple on top, preferably from Dominos.

What is one thing scientists should invent?

Teleporters would be cool, or some kind of faster travel.

If you could time travel, where would you go?

I’d love to go to the medieval time period or the Dark Ages, especially in regards toEngland,Italy, andScandinavia.

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? 

I love hearing from my readers. They always brighten up my day. Also, starting as well as finishing books is very exciting.

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why?

It depends on what genre you’re interested in. Paranormal romance or sci-fi/cyberpunk romance. With paranormal romance, I’d say JUNGLE HEAT. It’s the first book in my Amazon Chronicles series, and it has a special place in my heart since it’s the first novella I ever completed. For sci-fi/cyberpunk romance, I’d say TECHNO CRAZED. It’s the first book in my Hacked Investigations series, and I’m very proud of it since I tied for first in a contest with Changeling Press, which is how I received my contract on it.

What do you hope readers take with them after reading one of your stories?

I hope they take happiness and enjoyment of the story with them. I also hope I’m able to transport them away from the everyday for a while.

Anything else you want to mention?

Thanks again for having me here, Raine! I love to hear from readers, so feel free to contact me. :-)

Captive Moonlight

Wolves of the Wild West, #3 (Multi-Author series)

Changeling Press

Erotic Western Paranormal Romance

Buy Now: http://changelingpress.com/product.php?&upt=book&ubid=1766 

A gentlewoman will do whatever it takes to rescue her captive werewolf betrothed.

When her betrothed, Joe, is taken captive by a group of men looking for werewolf laborers, it’s up to Charlotte to track him down and win him back — even if that means putting her own life in danger.

Captive Moonlight Excerpt: 

Charlottewrapped her arms around Joe’s broad torso and scraped her fingernails gently along the length of his muscular back. His breath came out quickly against her skin as he brushed feather-light kisses against her neck.

He nudged her thighs apart. Anticipation built within her as his hand dipped to her pussy. He parted her wet folds with his callused fingers and pushed one finger inside her.

She moaned, enjoying the tantalizing sensations his skilled attention brought about. She looked into his eyes, and he grinned down at her. The look of masculine satisfaction that he could please his lover was written clearly on his face.

She opened her mouth to protest when Joe removed his finger, but then he thrust his firm cock inside her, filling her so completely in one smooth stroke.

Charlotte dug her nails into his back. Joe’s eyes nearly rolled back in his head, and she couldn’t help but smile as he arched into her touch. Her betrothed liked a little pain with his sex. Not much, just nails and some teeth. Then again, it was befitting of a werewolf.

They didn’t talk much about that side of who he was. She figured he would share what he wanted with her. Sometimes he did, but she suspected he preferred to pretend like they were both normal. People were too quick to judge others by their race, or even species, these days.

Charlotte didn’t care about any of that. Being with Joe was her only need. She trailed a fingertip across his cheek while her other hand continued to dig into his flesh.

He met her gaze. His eyes, normally dark brown, were now wolf amber. “What did I do to get such a sweet lady like you?” he said, his voice gravelly and low.

She laughed, but the sound caught in her throat as his lips caressed her breast. “I wonder that too. Maybe it was destiny.”

He flicked his tongue over her nipple before pulling it into his mouth. He sucked on it, bringing pleasure sweeping through her. His other hand trailed along her full hips, which he insisted made her curvaceous and luscious.

She liked his answer.

He thrust even faster. Desire built within her as they reached ever closer toward climax. Charlotte leaned back against the pillow, clinging to him as he became the only thing real in her life. “Joe…”

Joe brushed kisses up from her breast to her neck until he finally placed a kiss on her lips. “Yes, love?” Hunger filled his eyes as he watched her. “You’re getting close. So tight.” He slid in and out in longer strokes.

He knew what she liked. “I love it when you talk like that.” Her body clenched as orgasm rushed toward her. She gasped and gripped his back. Joe covered her lips with his, ravishing her mouth until she didn’t know which way was up. He was the hungry wolf to her somewhat innocent maid.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book blurb, Changeling Press, Cover goodness, Excerpt, Guest Author Day, Interview, New Release, New to me author, Paranormal, Romance

Leave a Reply

