Give a Warm Welcome to Amylea Lyn

 

Hi and welcome to my blog, Amylea Lyn. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Thanks for having me today, Raine!

Hey all! My name is Amylea Lyn and I write M/M romance. I’ve been an author for about 3 years now.

 

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

More then people realize, I think. Most of my characters share some small facet of my personality, and not always me best features. LOL. As for life experiences, I don’t know if many of mine end up in my books. Maybe a bit of the drama, but since I write mostly paranormal, not a lot of my life end up in my books.

Or vice versa. *sigh* No hunky shifters have shown up at my front door yet, but I’m still holding out hope. LOL

 

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book? 

About three to four months. I’m not very fast and I like to take my time when I’m working on a story.

 

What is your writing routine once you start a book?

I try to spend a couple hours a day writing, and I usually get a chapter finished in about three hours time. Some weeks I may only get one chapter done in a week, and in others I finish five. It all depends on how much time I have to devote to my writing.

I usually write in the afternoon too, and only on my days off. It’s the only days have time to get anything done. LOL

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it? 

My latest release is called The Beast’s Promise and it’s book 2 of my Outside the City series. This is Owen and Maltok’s story and I guess it was inspired by the first book in the series. LOL. It was important for me to continue on with the story. I know my readers are very happy that book 2 is finally out and they get to find out what happens next with my characters.

 

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write?

I love writing love scenes. J I think they add another dimension to the characters and allow the bond between them to grow deeper. I don’t like every other page to be sex scenes, but I do like them to be in a story. I have no problem writing them.

Plus they can be hot, hot, hot when you read them!!!

 

What kind of research do you do for your books?

I research the areas my books are set in. I want to make sure that my descriptions of streets and neighborhoods are mostly correct. I also research a lot if a character has a disease, disability, or problem I’m not familiar with. J I like my research… LOL.

What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do?

Other then reading and writing, I can usually be found gardening and canning my own jams and veggies. I also like to just get outside and wander.

The simple things make me happiest.
Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read?

Hmm… well, I’ve always been a big fan of Stormy Glenn, Amber Kell, Andrew Gray, Carol Lynne, J.R Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, and Christine Feehan.

But I also love the classics. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, just about anything by Edgar Allen Poe or Shakespeare, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Emily Dickinson, and William Bulter Yeats.

I love romance and fantasy, and of course, anything in the M/M genre.

Among your own books, have you a favorite?  A favorite hero or heroine?

 

I think my all time favorite character is Cael from Dream a Little Dream. He’d just so sweet and has gone through so much. I rooted for him the whole time I was writing the book.

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting? 

Story and character, then the setting usually follows. Although, I have been known to have a character first, and develop a story around them. J

What part of a book has been the easiest to write?  The hardest?

I always know how the story will start and how it will end, so the hardest for me is the middle of the story. Sometimes my muse doesn’t behave and tries to take the story in a different direction then I’d like.

It can be a fight just to get to the end of the story.LOL
What are the elements of a great romance for you?

Having the main characters be somewhat flawed or facing trouble, and them have them overcome those issues with the aid of their lover makes for me a great romance.
What is the hardest part of writing/the easiest for you?

The hardest part of writing for me is just finding the time. LOL. My schedule can be somewhat hectic and just finding time to sit down and bang out a chapter can be a hassle.

The easiest is actually writing and outlining a story. It’s my favorite part of writing by far.

 

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you?

Um, I think it’s pretty safe to say they (along with the help of my Muse) run my life. LOL

 

What are some of your current projects?

Book 3 of my Outside the City series. It will be Sashan’s story. After that I’ll be working on book 2 of my other series, called The Brotherhood and of course, the sequel to Love’s Crash Landing.

I’m going to busy for a while. *winks*

 

Boxers, briefs, boxerbriefs…. Or commando on a man? Why?

I like boxerbriefs… a little mystery can be nice when you’re with a man.

Then again, the easy access of a man going commando can be nice too. LOL

 

What is your strangest habit?

I bite my nails. I’ve done it since I was a little girl and can’t seem to break myself of the habit.

 

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought? 

LOL. “Ouch, my new tattoo hurts” and “Crap, I forgot to wash off my make-up last night.”

 

What is your favorite pizza? 

Chicken with pineapple chunks, and sweet bbq sauce instead of tomato sauce. I’m also partial to chicken garlic pizza with white sauce.

 

What is one thing scientists should invent?

Floating cars. Wouldn’t that just be so cool?!

 

If you could time travel, where would you go? 

AncientGreece. I love history and I’d pay anything to be able to see it with my own eyes.

 

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? 

Just being able to tell my stories and to hear from my readers. Nothing in the world compares to a fan or reader contacting you about how much they loved your book. It makes all the long hours and time spent agonizing over each aspect of the story worth it.

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why? 

I’d say start with one of my shorter books, Meant to be or Let’s Get Familiar. That way readers can see if they like my writing style before they move on to the bigger (and more expensive) stories.

What do you hope readers take with them after reading one of your stories?

That nothing is impossible and that everyone deserves a love story.

Anything else you want to mention?

Readers can find out more about me, and contact me on my website www.amylealyn.webs.com or on my blog www.amylealynromance.blogspot.com

 

The Beast’s Promise is available now at Silver Publishing!

Blurb: 

Owen Sanders has a lot on his mind. Ever since being kidnapped from the City, he’s been trying to get back in order to rescue the twin baby brothers he had been forced to leave behind. The only thing stopping him is leaving behind his newly found mate, Maltok, and the feelings he has for the other man.

Katrian Co-Alpha Chief, Maltok doesn’t know why his human mate refuses to bond with him. When he finds out about Owen’s forgotten family, Maltok is hurt that the smaller man would keep something so important from him. Maltok agrees to help retrieve the children on one condition; Owen must agree to mate him when they return to the Village. Owen reluctantly agrees.

The two men begin their journey and, on the way, learn that some misunderstandings must be resolved before they could have hope for their future. And when the City retaliates against their actions, the two men must make a decision that could save them all…

And possibly destroy the City forever.

 

Excerpt: 

“I want you, Mal, more than I’ve ever wanted anything in my life,” Owen confessed, whispering kisses across Maltok’s brow and down to the tip of his nose. “Everything I’ve ever done in my life was for those who depended on me. I don’t regret taking care of my family, that’s not what I’m saying at all. Just that you, I want you just for me. Is that okay?” Owen asked, suddenly feeling like he might be expecting too much.

The tender look Maltok gave him stopped his churning stomach and filled him with warmth. “Yes, my mate, that is okay. I want you for just for me, too. And I want our boys, our family. A family is all I ever wanted.”

“Our boys. Our family…” Owen whispered as tears filled his eyes. Yes, that was what he wanted. Someone to share his life with, to depend on and lean on when the responsibilities of raising two little boys seemed like too much for one person to handle. He could hardly believe everything he’d ever longed for was right in front of him, all wrapped up in a large muscled mass of man, who shifted into a large lion and was the most loveable, impossible man he’d ever met. Owen knew he could seem rather waspish and snippy, but Maltok seemed to actually enjoy that facet of his personality. Someone who not only loved him, but was also willing to put up with him and the boys was not something he ever thought to pray to the Founding Fathers for.

To be given such a gift both surprised and humbled him.

“Yes, Mal. My Mal, I want that too. I want so, so much!” Owen cried as he pulled Maltok’s face down to him and once again lost himself in an all consuming kiss. 

Buy Link: https://spsilverpublishing.com/product_book_info/products_id/777

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cover goodness, Excerpt, GBLT Author, Guest Author Day, LGBT, Manlove, New Release, New to me author, Paranormal, Shape Shifter

Leave a Reply

