Snippit in a WIP

Working Title-A Forever Love
M/M Paranormal
Currently writing

Tagline: Can a broken man find the love destined to be his?

Blurb:

Maxwell Evermore thought his life was perfect. He had a wonderful mate in Jaden Creed, great friends and a good if boring job as a salesperson at an advertising firm. When he is sidelined by the leaving of his lover, his life over, Max finds that sometimes when one door closes, another opens & in this case with a lion shifter named Leo who will heal his shattered heart if Max will let him.

Sneak peek into this newest WIP-please pardon the mistakes, it’s a rough draft.

He was gone…away from me and the life we built together. He was never coming back and though I wanted to rail against the injustice of it all, I knew I would forgive and possibly live again. But right now all I wanted to do was cry a river of tears as the pain of the loss of my mate finally had me to my knees.

Whimpering, I tried to stand but my legs wouldn’t keep me up. The pain was too intense as I felt the connection with the man I loved with all my heart, Jaden, died a little more as each minute passed. The connection that brought me such comfort was completely gone within a matter of minutes as Jaden walked away from me and the love I had for him. I never felt this pain before in all my life. I thought I could withstand anything life through at me but this anguish was almost too much to bear. Feeling as though my heart would give up at any minute, I crawled over to the couch and hugged the pillow as the tears streamed from my eyes, wetting the fabric as I wailed against all the pain that welled inside me.

“Why, Jaden?” whispering as I rocked back and forth. “What was so bad about our life that you had to walk away from me? Our three years together?”

Jaden’s last words replayed in my head…I don’t love you anymore, Maxwell. I found someone else…my destined mate, a woman who will carry my young and I am determined to be with her. It was fun but we were never meant to be together in a forever kind of life, Max. Be well and eventually you will find the one meant to be yours. I am sorry, Max, for everything. I hope you can forgive me…eventually. A keening wail rose in my throat as those last words of Jaden’s played again, striking my heart with a piercing arrow, causing more tears to leak from my eyes. Never expecting the one man that professed to love you and want to be with you to break your heart…heck he shattered it in a million pieces.

Sniffling, Max wiped his face with his hands and lay against the couch, “So we were not destined mates but that doesn’t mean we didn’t love one another, damn it.” Throwing the couch pillow across the room in a fit of anger he saw it strike the vase Jaden picked up on one of their excursions at the antique shows. He watched it wobble back and forth, like it was on slow motion then fall off the stand and shatter into pieces. That crash had him screaming out loud as the pain of Jaden’s exit finally became real. The pain was all consuming and he didn’t know how long he stayed curled up on the couch alternating between whimpers, crying and fits of anger. He ignored the phone ringing, the pounding on his front door…everything and everyone. He wanted to be alone and wallow in the misery that his life had become.

He dimly heard the phone ring as his body shook uncontrollably. Moaning as his body felt like it had a thousand knives in it, he heard pounding at the door again and then a sharp crack as it flew open. He peered as a shape came at him…not recognizing the person who stood in the doorway of his living room, until the sharp smell of sandalwood and leather made him blink again.

“MAX…Where the fuck are you, man?” the voice seemed so far away and he flinched as the shadow of his best friend, Alexi, fell over him. “Damn man, you look like crap and you definitely need a shower.”

“Alexi….what…what are you doing here?” I uttered as I tried to focus but Alexi kept morphing into three people. His head hurt and his eyes couldn’t focus worth a damn.

“Do you know I have been trying to get a hold of you for over a week, Max? What the hell happened? Why are you holed up here like a hermit? Where’s Jaden? Why isn’t he here to help you?” Alexi’s voice moved over him in ebbs and waves…it felt like he was far away and before he could answer…the room went black as he fainted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

